A note from the Convenor

Download registration brochureRegister



“I did then what I knew how to do. Now that I know better, I do better.”
― Maya Angelou (1928-2014, American poet, memoirist, and civil rights activist)




Download handbookDownload program


Continuing professional development is vitally important to our profession. Just when we thought we had it nailed, something new and shiny appears that enables us to “do better”. Come to Melbourne in June 2017 and find out what’s new!

Dr Mark Schipp, Australia’s Chief Veterinary Officer, will give the opening plenary on antimicrobial resistance strategies and plans. We are joined later in the week by Dr Chris Baggoley BVSc, BM BS, who held the position of Chief Medical Officer for the Australian Government for five years, at a time when global concern over the impact of emerging infectious disease and antimicrobial resistance dramatically increased.

Whilst we need to be abreast of such important global issues, we also need to consider our own wellbeing. Dr Tony Fernando will review the psychology and neuroscience of happiness research, discussing practical strategies to enhance wellbeing and happiness. Dr Andy Roark will motivate us to commit to our passion for veterinary science, to connect with our clients and to communicate more effectively with co-workers, peers and clients.

Your SIGs have selected international and national speakers to discuss new ideas and novel solutions with us. Animal welfare is a strong focus for the 2017 conference and as well there are many shared sessions, reaching across multiple disciplines, which will engage the profession on common areas of concern. To round out the week, James O’Loghlin returns as our celebrity Member Forum facilitator.

Come to your National Conference and be inspired.

See you in June!

Dr Sally Colgan


2017 Scientific Committee

Special thanks to the Conference Program Committee

Dr Sally Colgan, Convenor
Dr Angus Adkins
Dr Dave Beggs
Dr Geoff Golovsky
Dr Robert Johnson, AVA President
Dr Melanie Latter
Anne McCotter
Dr Jane Owens
Dr Vanessa Watson
Dr Stephen Yeomans

AVA Events Team

Kandy Musgrave, National Events Manager
Gabi Caruana
Lucy Rhodes
Melanie Robbins
Diane King